Types of Intellectual Property

Intellectual property

It is a fact commonly overlooked: in principle anyone is legally permitted to copy the achievements of third parties, provided there are no conflicting IP rights (and provided no unfair competition is involved). This applies not only to you, but also, of course, to your competitors if they try to take advantage of your research and development by adopting them in part or even in their entirety. Intellectual property rights provide the most effective means of protection against imitation:

Patents and Utility Models:
for protecting products and methods that embody technical innovation.

Trademarks:
for simply providing an indication of origin – in the form of a name, a logo or a characteristic colourway or shape.

Designs:
for protecting the external aesthetic appearance and effect of a product.

To protect your idea from unwelcome surprises we will advise you as to the most appropriate IP right for your product and support you all the way from application to grant (or registration) and of course beyond!

Patents

Technical inventions are usually the result of painstaking and cost-intensive research and development. The best inventions, however, are valuable only to the extent that they are protected against imitation. It is precisely such protection that is the essential purpose of a patent.
Together with the inventors, our patent specialists identify the broad concepts underlying your invention. On that basis they formulate the patent protection precisely so that it covers not only your own forms of the invention but also any potential workarounds that your competitors may devise and so is tailored to your specific sector and your market environment.

We not only undertake patent applications, patent enforcement and patent defence, but also deal with myriad other associated aspects, such as the law surrounding employee inventions or the licensing of your patents.

Trademarks

Trademarks are valuable – and can even be worth a fortune. They are also a simple but very effective way of distinguishing your products and services from those of your competitors. It is often primarily the trademarks that impart „charisma“ to goods or services and ultimately determine their success or failure: a good trademark arouses emotions.

Our trademark specialists have many years of wide-ranging experience, enabling them to pro-vide you with the entire spectrum of available brand and trademark protection and also to point out any associated pitfalls at home and abroad: before adoption of a new trademark or an ex-tension to the use of an existing trademark, they conduct searches for any conflicting IP rights in your market environment, identify any weak spots and assess any risks. They then guide your trademark through application, examination, registration and extension as well as through contentious opposition and cancellation proceedings and the enforcement of your rights against third parties.

We thus create and maintain a sound foundation for successful marketing of your goods or services – and will continue to do so through the unlimited lifetime of the trademark.

Designs

Design is often the only distinguishing feature of a product that attracts the attention of a consumer, because functional differences between commonly used products are rare and the lifecycles of products have become increasingly short. Consequently an attractive product design, such as an aesthetically pleasing appearance or an original shape and colour scheme, is an especially important factor for a customer in deciding which product to buy.

Whether your design constitutes the essential worth of your product or is intended „merely“ to improve the appearance of a technical item, we search for conflicting IP rights and guide your design through application and registration at home and abroad.

We thus ensure that you benefit from effective and economically priced protection against imitation.

You have questions?
We have answers!

Schutzrechtsarten

Intellectual Property

Was oft übersehen wird: Tatsächlich ist es rechtlich grundsätzlich jedem erlaubt, fremde Leistungen zu kopieren, wenn keine Schutzrechte entgegenstehen oder keine wettbewerbsrechtliche Unlauterkeit vorliegt. Das gilt nicht nur für Sie, sondern natürlich auch für Ihre Wettbewerber, wenn diese Ihren Entwicklungsergebnissen zu nahe kommen oder diese ganz übernehmen. Das wirksamste Mittel, sich gegen Nachahmung zu schützen, bieten die gewerblichen Schutzrechte:

Patente und Gebrauchsmuster
für Gegenstände und Verfahren, die eine technische Innovation verkörpern

Marken
der Herkunftshinweis schlechthin – in Form einer Bezeichnung, eines Logos oder einer charakteristischen Farb- bzw. Formgebung

Designs
für die äußere, ästhetische Erscheinungsform und Wirkung eines Objekts (früher auch »Geschmacksmuster«)

Damit Sie mit Ihrer Idee keine unangenehmen Überraschungen erleben, beraten wir Sie hinsichtlich des für Sie und für Ihr Produkt passenden Schutzrechts und begleiten Sie von dessen Anmeldung bis hin zur Erteilung (bzw. Eintragung) und natürlich auch darüber hinaus!

Patente

Technische Erfindungen sind meist das Ergebnis aufwändiger und kostenintensiver Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse. Die besten Erfindungen sind aber nur so wertvoll, wie sie gegen Nachahmungen geschützt sind. Genau dieser Nachahmungsschutz ist der wesentliche Zweck eines Patents.

Gemeinsam mit den Erfindern arbeiten unsere Patentspezialisten den allgemeinen Lösungsgedanken heraus, der hinter Ihrer Erfindung steht. Davon ausgehend formulieren sie den Schutz genau so, dass er nicht nur Ihre eigene Bauformen der Erfindung, sondern auch mögliche Umgehungslösungen Ihrer Wettbewerber abdeckt und auf die Besonderheiten Ihrer Branche und Ihres Marktumfelds zugeschnitten ist.

Wir kümmern uns dabei nicht nur um die Anmeldung, Durchsetzung und Verteidigung der Patente, sondern auch um alle anderen damit zusammenhängenden Fragestellungen, wie etwa um das Arbeitnehmererfinderrecht oder die Lizenzierung Ihrer Patente.

Marken

Marken sind wertvoll – sie können sogar ein Vermögen wert sein. Zudem sind sie ein einfaches, aber zugleich sehr wirksames Instrument, um Ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen von denen Ihrer Mitbewerber zu unterscheiden. Oft sind es gerade Marken, die einer Ware oder einer Dienstleistung eine »Ausstrahlung« verleihen und letztendlich über deren Erfolg oder Misserfolg entscheiden – denn eine gute Marke weckt Emotionen.

Aufgrund ihrer langjährigen und vielseitigen Erfahrung sind unsere Markenspezialisten in der Lage, Ihnen die gesamte Bandbreite marken- und kennzeichenrechtlicher Schutzmöglichkeiten, aber auch entsprechende Fallstricke im In- und Ausland aufzuzeigen: Im Vorfeld einer neuen oder erweiterten Markenbenutzung recherchieren sie nach entgegenstehenden Schutzrechten in Ihrem Marktumfeld, identifizieren deren etwaige Schwachstellen und bewerten die vorhandenen Risiken. Anschließend betreuen sie Ihre Marke bei Anmeldung, Prüfung, Eintragung und Verlängerung sowie in streitigen Widerspruchs- und Löschungsverfahren und bei deren Durchsetzung gegen Dritte.

So schaffen und bewahren wir die Grundlage für die erfolgreiche Vermarktung Ihrer Ware oder Dienstleistung – und das ein unbegrenztes Markenleben lang.

Designs

Designs sind häufig das einzige für den Verbraucher wahrnehmbare Unterscheidungsmerkmal eines Produkts, da funktionale Unterschiede zwischen Gebrauchsgegenständen selten und die Lebenszyklen von Produkten immer kürzer geworden sind. Folglich ist für die Kaufentscheidung des Kunden ein ansprechendes Produktdesign wie etwa eine ästhetische Aufmachung oder eine
originelle Form und Farbgestaltung besonders wichtig.

Nicht nur wenn Ihr Design den wesentlichen Wert Ihres Produkts ausmacht, sondern auch wenn Ihr Design »nur« dazu dienen soll, einen technischen Gegenstand besser aussehen zu lassen – wir recherchieren nach entgegenstehenden Schutzrechten und betreuen die Anmeldung und Eintragung Ihres Designs im In- und Ausland.

So sorgen wir zu Ihren Gunsten für einen wirkungsvollen und kostengünstigen Schutz gegen Nachahmung.

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir haben Antworten!